17 August 2022

The literary community is gearing up to once again recognise Australia’s best and brightest writing talent, with writers invited to enter the 2023 Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards.

VPLA logo

Now in its 38th year, the Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards celebrate the country’s finest literary offerings, with prizes for fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, writing for young adults, and Indigenous writing. Winners of each of these categories will receive $25,000 and contest the single most valuable literary prize in Australia, the $100,000 Victorian Prize for Literature

This year’s Victorian Prize for Literature was awarded to Veronica Gorrie for her powerful work Black and Blue: A Memoir of Racism and Resilience.

The Awards also include the highly coveted unpublished manuscript award, for which the winner receives a $15,000 prize. Previous winners include Victoria Hannan’s Kokomo, Rhett Davis’s Hovering and Jane Harper’s The Dry, which has been made into a blockbuster film, with a sequel currently in production in Victoria.

The People’s Choice Award, which is decided by popular vote, receives a $2000 prize.

Works published between 1 January 2022 and 31 December 2022 are eligible to enter.

Entries close on Wednesday 31 August 2022. The shortlist will be published on the Wheeler Centre website in early December 2022, and winners of all nine categories will be announced at the Awards ceremony on Thursday 2 February 2023.

The Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards are administered by the Wheeler Centre on behalf of the Victorian Government. For more information including eligibility requirements, visit the Wheeler Centre website.