• design
  • digital games
  • fashion
  • literature
  • music

20 December 2019

Bendigo’s new creative industries hub continues to grow with the appointment of the Local Advisory Group and the official naming of the space as The Studio.


The ten members of the new Advisory Group will work with ACMI to ensure the program and operations of The Studio reflect local needs. All group members have deep connections within the local creative sector at all levels - from arts education to grassroots organisations and innovative creative businesses. They are:

David Burton – Arts education practitioner

Louise Fisher - Graphic designer and art director from Bendigo graphic design studio The Design Pond

Steve Lane – Video producer, sound engineer and songwriter

Leah Ladson – Photographer and founder of women in small business network Girls from the Go

Tamara Marwood – Creative director of strategic consulting agency Create Business

Caleb Maxwell – Co-founder of Bendigo-based film studio Hebron Films

Katy Morrison – Co-founder and producer at virtual reality studio VRTOV, manager of not-for-profit art and technology organisation Frame Ltd

Aymii Hansen – Taungurung woman, artist and curator. Founder of Aboriginal owned and operated art company Jumbarrawa

Bryley Savage – Creative Director of communications and marketing agency, Friendly Savage, and

Patrick Thwaites from not for profit association for artists and creatives Bendigo Artists Inc.

The Advisory Group joins The Studio’s manager David Hughes, local design and digital marketing agency Creative Revolution and Bendigo-based PR strategist Greta Donaldson as the local team leading The Studio’s development.

An initiative of the Andrews Labor Government’s Creative State strategy, The Studio will be located at the former Morley’s Emporium. as a co-working and events place for creative practitioners, entrepreneurs and businesses to work, connect, build their skills and expand their networks.