• aboriginal
  • literature

3 December 2019

The shortlist for the 2020 Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards has been revealed.

book covers

The 23 shortlisted titles include some of the year’s best fiction, non-fiction, drama, poetry and young adult fiction, as well as unpublished manuscripts.

The shortlist includes multi-award-winning author Christos Tsiolkas; critically-acclaimed novelists Tara June Winch and Wayne Macauley; award-winning writer and journalist Anna Krien; singer-songwriter Archie Roach; investigative journalist Jess Hill; award-winning playwright, author and poet Samah Sabawi; CuriousWorks founder and Co-Curious artistic director S. Sivanathan; award-winning poet LK Holt; and award-winning young adult author Holden Sheppard.

The winners of the fiction, non-fiction, drama, poetry and writing for young adults’ prizes each receives $25,000. The unpublished manuscript winner receives $15,000. All six of the award categories go on to contest the $100,000 Victorian Prize for Literature, Australia’s single richest literary prize.

Everyone is encouraged to participate and vote for their favourite book published in 2019 at wheelercentre.com. The winner of the People’s Choice Award will receive $2,000.

The winners will be announced on Thursday 30 January, 2020 at MPavilion. The Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards were inaugurated by the Victorian Government in 1985 to honour Australian writing. They are administered by the Wheeler Centre on behalf of the Premier of Victoria.