• arts & culture

5 November 2018

Over a quarter of all shortlisted authors for this year’s Prime Minister’s Literary Awards hail from, or are based in, Victoria.

Fiction aisle at Readings Carlton

Fiction aisle at Readings Carlton

Award categories include fiction, non-fiction, Australian history, young adult and children’s literature and recognise the work of both emerging and established writers.

The awards look to profile Australian literature and acknowledge the work of authors and illustrators.

Winners will be announced later this year.



Gerald Murnane – Border Districts

Peter Carey – A Long Way From Home


Professor Sheila Fitzpatrick – Mischka's War

Stuart Kells – The Library

Australian history

Judith Brett – The Enigmatic Mr Deakin

Young adult

Demet Divaroren – Living on Hope Street


Zana Fraillon – The One that Disappeared

Pea Pod Lullaby – Glenda Millard

Full list