• literature

16 November 2018

Victorian writers Alison Lester, Maria Tumarkin and Jamie Marina Lau have been recognised at this year’s Melbourne Prize for Literature.

Author and illustrator Alison Lester. Photo by Chris Groenhout.

Author and illustrator Alison Lester. Photo by Chris Groenhout. Courtesy: ArtsHub

Children's book author and illustrator Alison Lester received the top award, the $60,000 Melbourne Prize for Literature. This award honours Lester’s contribution to Australian literature and recognises her work with children in remote indigenous communities and through the Royal Children’s Hospital. This prize is supported by Principal Partner the Vera Moore Foundation, Tallis Foundation and Melbourne Prize Trust.

Maria Tumarkin received the Best Writing Award 2018 for Axiomatic (Brow Books), recognised as ‘a work of outstanding clarity, originality and creativity’. The $30,000 award is supported by The Robert Salzer Foundation.

Early career author Jamie Marina Lau has been awarded the new Readings Residency Award. This Award includes a residency at The University of Melbourne's Norma Redpath Studio and an affiliation with the School of Culture and Communication, $5,000 supported by Readings, and a $2,500 Qantas travel voucher.

The Victorian Government is a proud partner of the Melbourne Prize, an annual program which honours Victorian creativity and runs on a three-year cycle to celebrate music, literature and sculpture.

Each of the finalists across all 2018 award categories are still in the running for the publicly-voted $4,000 Civic Choice Award 2018, supported by Hardie Grant Books.


Tony Birch
Gideon Haigh
Alison Lester - Winner
Christos Tsiolkas
Alexis Wright

BEST WRITING AWARD 2018 - Finalists

Judith Bishop
Angus Cerini
Kate Cole-Adams
Briohny Doyle
A. Frances Johnson
Maria Tumarkin - Winner
Sarah Krasnostein
Louise Milligan
Jock Serong
Jeff Sparrow


Jamie Marina Lau - Winner
Micheline Lee
Marlee Jane Ward