• music

22 January 2018

Nominations for the 2017 Australian Music Prize have been announced, with five of the nine shortlisted artists hailing from Victoria.

Jen Cloher

Jen Cloher

Awarded annually, the Australian Music Prize aims to discover and promote new Australian music of excellence. Each year an Australian artist or group of artists receives the Award, receiving a $30,000  cash prize in recognition of the outstanding creativity they exhibited based on an original album released in that year.

The Victorian nominees for best album of 2017 include Jen Cloher, who has earned a place for her critically acclaimed self-titled album.

Skyrocketing R’n’B talent Sampa the Great was nominated for her debut album, Birds and the BEE9, while industry vet Paul Kelly was shortlisted for Life is Fine.

Indie rock band Beaches made the list with Second of Spring, while electronic soul artist Darcy Baylis nabbed a spot with Intimacy & Isolation.

Eight of the previous twelve winners of the Australian Music Prize have hailed from Victoria, including The Drones, who won the inaugural prize, and A.B. Original, who took out the prize for best album of 2016.

The winner of the 2017 Australian Music Prize will be announced on Friday 9 March. As part of a new partnership with the Victorian Government through the Music Works initiative, the Prize will call Melbourne home for the next two years.

Visit the website for the full shortlist