• arts & culture

7 September 2018

Entries to the 2019 Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards are now open.

City of Literature books

The awards celebrate the best contemporary Australian writing and are administered by the Wheeler Centre on behalf of the Premier of Victoria. For the first time ever, all of the awards, including the biennial Award for Indigenous Writing and the Award for an Unpublished Manuscript, will be announced at the same awards ceremony on Thursday 31 January 2019.

The winners of the main suite of awards – fiction, non-fiction, drama, poetry, writing for young adults, and the biennial Award for Indigenous Writing – each receive $25,000. The winner of the Award for an Unpublished Manuscript receives $15,000.

The winners of the seven award categories go on to contest the overall Victorian Prize for Literature, worth an additional $100,000. This is the single most valuable literary award in the country.

People can participate in the awards by voting for their favourite work on the shortlist. The winner of the People’s Choice Award will be named alongside the general category winners, and will receive $2,000.

The shortlist will be announced on the Wheeler Centre website on Monday 3 December 2018.

Books published between 1 January 2018 and 31 December 2018 are eligible for entry into the 2019 Victorian Premier's Literary Awards. Books published after close of entries (1 October 2018) can be submitted in PDF format, or as a printed and bound proof.

Entries close Monday 1 October 2018.

Visit the Wheeler Centre for details