• screen
  • games

19 July 2017

Film Victoria has opened the new financial year with a major funding announcement, including fellowships to support professional development for women in the screen industry.

The latest round of Assigned Production Investment funding will see $2.6 million dispersed amongst nine recipients, supporting three features, three documentaries, a television series, an online series and an animation.

Funding will see a return season of ABC television documentary series Kick whichfollows the soccer season of young Victorian girls in their quest to become one of the Matildas.It will also support animation series The Strange Chores and the new instalment of the Underbelly Movie files.

The investment is expected to generate more than 2100 employment opportunities in the sector and bring in more than $36 million for the Victorian economy for the new financial year.   

Through Film Victoria's Screen Business Ventures program, eight businesses will share in more than $2.7m to implement strategies to support business growth. Recipients include independent game developers League of Geeks (Armello) and Mighty Games Group (Shooty Skies and Disney Crossy Road); drama production businesses Arenamedia, Carver Films, Every Cloud Productions, Princess Pictures and December Media; and documentary specialist Genepool Productions.

As outlined in its 2017-20 Corporate Plan, Film Victoria has a commitment to see women comprise 50 per cent of writers, directors and producers across the productions funded in the next five years and an ambition to double the number of women currently employed across all funded games.

The commitment to increasing the visibility of Victorian women in screen is supported through two  fellowship programs, the Natalie Miller Fellowship Women in Leadership Development program and the Women in Games Fellowship.

Just announced, the 2017 fellowship recipients include:

Women in Games recipients

  • Marigold Bartlett
  • Ngoc Vu
  • Isabelle Gramp
  • Shelley Lowe

Women in Leadership Development Initiative recipients

  • Fiona Eagger
  • Rita Walsh
  • Virginia Whitwell
  • Anna Kaplan
  • Selin Yaman

Read more about the Film Victoria 2017-2020 Corporate Plan

Read more about Film Victoria's initiatives to support women in the screen industry