• arts & culture

31 May 2017

Jane Harper has taken the Annual Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIAs) Book of the Year for her rural crime novel The Dry.

The Dry by Jane Harper

The ABIA Voting Academy is made up of over 100 representatives from across the bookselling and publishing industry as well as additional specialist experts.

Winner of the 2015 Victorian Premier's Literary Award for an Unpublished Manuscript, Jane Harper's taut detective story has taken the highest acclaim at this year's ABIAs.

This crowns a golden year for Harper after The Dry film option rights were snapped up by Reese Witherspoon's Pacific Standard, and publication rights sold in more than 20 territories after fierce auctions.

Victorian writer Zana Fraillon was also honoured at the ABIAs, taking Book of the Year for Older Children (8 to 14 years) for The Bone Sparrow, while Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton won Book Year for Younger Children (0 to 8 years) for The 78-Storey Treehouse.

The Matt Richell Award for New Writer of the Year was to Victorian feminist commentator Clementine Ford for her memoir, Fight Like a Girl.

Visit ABIA for a fill list of winners