• arts & culture

18 October 2016

Victoria's exceptional literary talent is recognised in the 2016 Prime Minister's Literary Awards nominations.

Announced this week, the shortlist includes celebrated fiction and non-fiction writers from across the State, with Victorian writers dominating the Fiction and Young Adult categories.

Having won the Award in 2014, Steve Carroll has again been shortlisted for the Fiction prize with his novel, Forever Young. He is joined by Lisa Gorton, winner of the 2008 Victorian Premier's Award for Poetry, who is in competition with her debut novel, The Life of Houses. The Natural Way of Things by Charlotte Wood, which has already claimed the 2016 Indie Book of the Year and Indie Fiction Book of the Year prizes, is also a contender.

Melbourne University Fellow, Simon West has been nominated for the Prime Minister's Poetry prize for The Ladder, while Julie Cotter has received a nomination in the Non-fiction category for Tom Roberts and the Art of Portraiture. A Senior Arts Officer with Creative Victoria's Arts Sector Investment branch, Julie is also an art historian specialising in portraiture and the Australian Impressionists. In researching Tom Roberts's portraits she travelled to the many Australian and international sites where his work was produced.

The Prize for Australian History has two Victorian nominees, including The Story of Australia's People: The Rise and Fall of Ancient Australia by Geoffrey Blainey AO and Ned Kelly: A Lawless Life by Gippsland's Doug Morrissey.

Four of the five books nominated in the Young Adult category hail from Victoria: Becoming Kirrali Lewis by Jane Harrison, Illuminae: The Illuminae Files _01 by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, A Single Stone by Meg McKinlay and Green Valentine by Lili Wilkinson. In the Children's Book category, Victoria is represented by Elise Hurst with Adelaide's Secret World and Anna Walker with Mr Huff.

The Prime Minister's Literary Awards celebrate outstanding literary talent in Australia and the valuable contribution Australian literature and history makes to the nation's cultural and intellectual life. The winner of each category will take home an $80,000 prize with $5,000 awarded for each shortlisted work. Winners will be announced later this year.

Visit the Awards website for details