• arts & culture

29 August 2016

Victorian author Alec (A.S.) Patric has won the 2016 Miles Franklin Award for his novel, Black Rock White City.

Miles Franklin winner AS Patric

2016 Miles Franklin Award winner, Alec Patric

Set in Melbourne's bayside suburbs in the late nineties, Black Rock White City tells the story of two Bosnian civil war refugees who are negotiating life in their adopted home, while dealing with memories of trauma and loss.

Black Rock White City is Patric's debut novel, following two short story collections and a novella titled Bruno Kramzer. He has previously won the Ned Kelly Award and the Booranga Prize, and has been shortlisted for the Queensland Literary Awards.

Patric's most recent win was announced at the opening of Melbourne Writer's Week, following a keynote address by Melbourne writer Maxine Beneba Clarke. As recipient of the Miles Franklin, Australia's most prestigious literary award, Patric will take home $65,000 in prize money.

The shortlisted writers, including Victorians Peggy Frew (Hope Farm), Myfanwy Jones (Leap) and Lucy Treloar (Salt Creek), and NSW author Charlotte Wood (The Natural Way of Things), will each receive $5000.

Visit Alec Patric's website