• arts & culture

10 October 2016

The 2016 West Australian Premier's Book Awards were announced last week, with three Victorian authors named among the winners.

Helen Garner

Helen Garner

Helen Garner was awarded the $25,000 Premier's Prize for her powerful rendering of the Farquharson murder trial, This House of Grief. The book also won the $15,000 prize for non-fiction.

A previous winner of the Victorian Premier's Literary Award for an Unpublished Manuscript, Miles Allinson took the $5000 People's Choice award for his novel, Fever of Animals.

Castlemaine-based author Glenda Millard was also honoured, winning the $15,000 Children's Book Award for The Duck and the Darklings.

Congratulations to these outstanding representatives of Melbourne City of Literature and the creative regions of Victoria.

Visit Books + Publishing for a full list of winners