• screen

14 October 2016

Five prominent local screen practitioners have been honoured by Film Victoria at the 2016 Screen Leader Awards.

The inaugural Fred Schepisi Award was presented to acclaimed Director Greg Mclean, acknowledging his achievements in directing - from his 2005 debut feature Wolf Creek through to his most recent film The Belko Experiment which screened at the 2016 Toronto International Film Festival.

Alison Nisselle, whose credits include television dramas Phoenix, Janus, Bed of Roses and the feature film Healing, received the Jan Sardi Award for her significant achievement as a screenwriter.

Deb Cox and Fiona Eagger, the duo behind Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries were acknowledged with the Jill Robb Award for their outstanding leadership. The pair, through their production company Every Cloud Productions, have built a reputation for creating nationally and internationally successful programs.

Post-production specialist Ian Anderson, whose expertise has been instrumental on productions including The Castle and The Secret Life of Us and Oddball, received the John Howie Award for outstanding leadership, achievement and service to the industry.

The Awards also celebrated an impressive year for the Victorian screen industry with the release of Film Victoria's 2015-16 Annual Report detailing the 67 film, television and games projects supported across the year. The report revealed that the supported projects generated more than 8,000 jobs and injected $173 million into the Victorian economy.

For more information on the 2016 Screen Leader Awards visit www.film.vic.gov.au