• arts & culture

22 December 2015

Three of the prestigious Australia Council Fellowships have been awarded to Victorian artists.

Worth $80,000 over two years, the highly sought after Australia Council Fellowships are awarded to outstanding, established artists with a significant track record in their chosen field to undertake creative activity, research and professional development. 

Seven Australian artists have been named as recipients for 2016/2017, including Victoria's Alison Croggon, Debby Maziarz and Andrew Morrish.

Alison Croggon is a prominent Victorian novelist, poet, literary critic, essayist, librettist and cultural commentator. Alison's Australia Council Fellowship in Literature will see her working on three major projects: a new opera libretto, Love and Death; a new young adult book, The Stone Heart; and an edited selection of her best critical reviews and essays for publication as a book.

Debby Maziarz is an experienced director of performance, circus and engaging community and has used these skills as a social entrepreneur, business development manager, educator and fundraiser in the arts. She has received an Australia Council Fellowship in Community Arts and Cultural Development which will enable her to explore trade, exchange and new ways of working in the arts. Her program will focus on global non-monetary networks that connect businesses through the exchange of products and services.

Andrew Morrish is one of Victoria's leading improvisational dance artists. He teaches movement and performance improvisation workshops, mentors artists in Australia and Europe and was the key facilitator at the 2015 National Dance Forum. Andrew's Australia Council Fellowship in Dance will develop solo Performance Improvisation practice. After 35 years of independent and sustained practice in solo improvisation in studios and theatres around the world, Andrew will challenge and deepen his artistic work into developing the form of the 50-55 minute solo.

Australia Council Chief Executive Officer Tony Grybowski congratulated the recipients of this year's fellowships and paid tribute to the outstanding body of work each had already produced in their respective art forms.

"Fellowships are an important component of the Council's grants program and for many artists they are life-changing to their career," Mr Grybowski said, "Our fellowships are only granted once in an artists' lifetime. They go to artists who demonstrate outstanding achievement on the national and international stage."

Past Fellowship recipients include Gary Lang, Alana Valentine, Archie Roach, Tim Daly, Judith Wright, Tamara Saulwick and Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu.

Read more about the Australia Council Fellowships program