• arts & culture
  • design

16 November 2015

Victorian projects and Victorian architects have performed well in the  Australian Institute of Architecture's 2015 National Architecture Awards.

The 2015 National Architecture Awards were announced by the Australian Institute of Architects in Brisbane, with 61 finalists were shortlisted from eligible 185 projects. Forty two projects received national honours across 14 categories.

Victoria's ARM Architecture won the Sir Zelman Cowen Award for Public Architecture for the Shrine of Remembrance – Galleries of Remembrance.

The Water Burley Griffin Awards for Urban Design went to Fender Katsalidis Architects for the New Acton Precinct, while the National Award went to Jackson Clements Burrows Architects for the Monash University North West Precinct. Jackson Clements Burrows also won a commendation in Small Projects Architecture for their Moonlight Cabin project, a remote hideaway on the Victorian coast.

The Daryl Jackson Award for Educational Architecture went to the Melbourne School of Design project, designed by John Wardle Architects and NADAAA. John Wardle also won a commendation for its work on the Jeffrey Smart Building at the University of South Australia.

A commendation in the Commercial Architecture category was shared by Seth Stein Architects (London) in association with Watson Architecture + Design (Melbourne), for the Equestrian Centre in Merricks.

Read the full list of winners via ArchitectureAU