A key initiative of the Victorian Government’s $115m Creative State strategy, the Creators Fund will enable recipients to work intensively to research and develop their creative ideas over an intensive period of up to six months.

    The Creators Fund paves the way for independent creatives to take their practice and their careers to the next level by providing them with one of the most important and scarce resources - time.

    Meet a selection of the 2021 Creators Fund recipients, selected by expert panels from more than 280 applications.

    Ngioka Bunda-Heath

    Ngioka is the first Aboriginal woman to graduate from the dance program at the Victorian College of the arts.

    Read more

    Nick Pages-Oliver

    Nick is an equity award nominated theatre and film maker living between Perth and Melbourne. Read more

    Sarah Tracton

    Sarah Tracton is a multidisciplinary fine artist and bespoke lighting designer. Read more

    Andy Butler

    Andy Butler is an early career artist, writer and curator. Read more

    Elissa Goodrich

    Elissa Goodrich is a composer, sound-artist and percussionist. Read more

    Isabel Peppard

    Isabel Peppard is a multidisciplinary artist who works across the mediums of film, sculpture and stop-motion animation. Read more

    Yumi Umiuare

    Born in Japan, Yumi is an established Butoh Dancer, choreographer and creator of Butoh Cabaret works.

    Read more

    Sarah Aiken

    Sarah Aiken is a Melbourne based dancer, teacher and choreographer from Bellingen NSW.

    Read more

    Nnenna Okore

    Nnenna Okore is an artist-researcher-teacher who uses artistic practice, pedagogy and social engagements address ecological issues.

    Read more


    Hiranga Goonawardena and Ashini de Alwis are registered architects (ARBV), experienced in city-changing public infrastructure, both local and abroad.

    Read more

    Opal Winter

    Opal Winter is an Agender multidisciplinary creator from Melbourne with lived experience of chronic illness and disability. Read more


    Jaeden Williams

    Jaeden Williams is a proud Yalukit Willam man of the Boonwurrung; founder and director of Biik Bundjil. Read more

    Jacob Leaney

    Jacob Leaney is game developer and songwriter/producer. Read more


    Kush is a “doer of many things”, she is an independent producer/artist/writer/curator/community arts and avid bird watcher.

    Read more

    N'arweet Dr. Carolyn Briggs AM and Troy Innocent

    A collaborative project developing a cultural walking and listening experience.

    Read more

    Additional recipients include:

    • Anna Liebzit
    • Sam McGilp
    • Cher Tan
    • Nova Weetman
    • M'ck McKeague
    • Koraly Dimitriadis
    • Luxville
    • Siri Hayes and Chaco Kato with In Place
    • Louise Terry
    • John Harding
    • Michael Beets